Rosette making part III

So my Spruce top has been prepared for inlaying the rosette, which I assemble in 2 parts.  After doing some calculations, I first cut a channel just for the tile, and after the glue has dried on those, I rout again on either side for the rings.  Again it makes the assembly a little less stressful, and sometimes it also helps to be able to rout the edges of the tile ring perfectly round.

I cut boundary lines with a circle cutter tool and then rout away, using this base made for a Dremel like the one I am using.

IMG_2931

Gluing in the tiles:

IMG_2934

After that operation has been repeated for the rings, the rosette is complete.  I give time for the glue to dry and then plane the top down to final thickness and cut out the soundhole.

IMG_2954IMG_2962

Leave a comment