Andaman Padauk part II

Today was resawing day.  I took the half hour drive down to Dick Cogger’s shop outside of Ithaca, and in between trying out one of his classical guitars, and loading up on fresh Cucumbers and Zucchini from the garden, we managed to get all the Padauk sawn up.

Since my last post, another large chunk of the stuff, as well as two side-less Andaman backs showed up at my doorstep from the same generous wood collector.  Two spent bandsaw blades later, I had a lot of red dust and enough Padauk for nine guitars.  But first we took the boards to the table saw, squared them, and cut off splitty or uneven edges.

 

The wood:

DSC_0181 1

The saw:

DSC_0182 1

That little fence was enough to keep everything square and I ended up with very consistent thickness of slices.

Here are the first two back halves to come off.  This is the only set to have anything but totally clear, straight grain.  Just one small semi-knot on the whole board.

DSC_0183 1

I ended up with five backs from the smaller board, then elected to cut two backs out of the large board to combine with the two I had back home, and use the rest for sides.

DSC_0187 1

Here’s the rest of the board split in two for sides.  The bandsaw had a much easier time cutting 4 inches instead of 8 1/4.

DSC_0185 1

Each of those two planks yielded 5 side sets at 3.5 mm thick, which means I have one extra set of sides in case one cracks or breaks.

DSC_0188 1

I will probably start a guitar using this wood within a few months and will post again once it’s in progress.

2 comments on “Andaman Padauk part II

  1. All went well! I’m glad. — Clif

Leave a comment